top of page


The Gitta Wombwell Scholarship

The Gitta Wombwell Scholarship is awarded in honor of a fixture in the  Propeller Club and indeed, the entire Charleston Waterfront.   Few individuals have contributed as much to the success of our Community.  Gitta has been a member of the Propeller Club of Charleston for more than 20 years, serving as Port Secretary from 1997 to 2005, First Vice President from 2006-2008 and she currently serves as Secretary for the Charleston Club and as a Director for the International Propeller Club.  Gitta proudly presided as the first woman President of the Propeller Club Port of Charleston from 2008-2010.  She was previously selected as 2001 Member of the Year in the Southeast Region, earned recognition as the region’s Maritime Person of the Year in 2010 and was selected as the International Propeller Club’s Member of the Year in 2013.  In addition to her contributions to the Propeller Club, she has been active throughout the maritime community in Charleston, and in 2012 was awarded the Beacon Award by the Maritime Association of South Carolina.

2023 Scholarship Winners:

Gitta Wombwell Scholarship recipients:

  • Morgan Haywood

  • Madison Haywood

  • Annalise Huggins

  • Adam Schaich

Billy Adams Scholarship recipients:

  • Katiana Adame

  • Tyler Odgers

Carlton Simmons Scholarship:

  • Annalese Huggins - University of Georgia

2024 Propeller Club Scholarship Application

bottom of page